About the 1st Africa STI Forum

First Africa Forum on Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) 

for Youth Employment, Human Capital Development and Inclusive Growth

Nairobi, Kenya, April 1-3, 2012 

The first Africa Forum on Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) will take place from April 1 – 3, 2012, in Nairobi, Kenya at the Intercontinental Hotel. Hosted by the Government of Kenya, it will include an Experts’ Meeting (April 1-2) and a Ministerial Conference (April 3). Both will stress the need to invest in STI, a key sector to foster human capital development and inclusive growth, and provide job opportunities for youth and women.


The forum will highlight best STI practices and policies in Africa and worldwide. In the same vein, the “Africa on the Move” exhibition will showcase the work of approximately 30 Kenyan innovators and entrepreneurs.

It will also aim to reinforce North-South and South-South collaboration, as well as to strengthen partnerships between academia, industry, the public and private sectors, and the diaspora.

The event is organized by the African Development Bank (AfDB), UNESCO, the African Union Commission (AU) , the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), and the Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA).

Participants include Ministers of Higher Education, Science, and Finance, experts, scientists, decision makers, private direct lenders, youth, academics, representatives of the private sector and civil society. They will discuss the mismatch between skills produced and labour market needs, creating a world class cadre of professors in Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths, how latest innovations and scientific research can contribute to promote clean drinking water, renewable energy, and effective health care and how to create a culture of entrepreneurship in Africa so that jobs can be generated by Africans and not only by foreign investors.

The Ministerial Conference will be opened on April 3, 2012 by the President of Kenya, Mwai Kibaki, the President of the African Development Bank, Donald Kaberuka, the Director-General of UNESCO Irina Bokova, the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Jean Ping and the Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Aboulie Janneh.